

## **Press Release**

## OIL SHIKSHYA RATNA PURASKAR 2016

**Duliajan, 26**<sup>th</sup> **September, 2016**: Oil India Ltd. under its educational CSR initiatives has been awarding "OIL Shikshya Ratna Puraskar" honoring the exemplary service of In-service teachers of all provincialized schools (Elementary to Secondary) of Government of Assam and all affiliated non-technical undergraduate colleges under state universities of Assam since 2013.

OIL awarded OIL Shikshya Ratna Puraskar, 2016 to 6 (six) teachers at an award ceremony held on 26<sup>th</sup> September 2016 at Duliajan Club followed by a Teachers' Workshop. The Shikshya Ratna Puraskar consisted of cash incentive of Rupees One Lakh, a silver salver and mementoes to each of the awardees.

The ceremony was graced by Chief Guest, Shri Utpal Bora, CMD, OIL and Guest of Honour, Dr. Indra Kumar Bhattacharya, eminent educationist and former Principal, Cotton College, Shri S Mahapatra, Director (E&D), Shri P K Sharma, Director (Operations), Shri Jayanta Kumar Borgohain, Resident Chief Executive, OIL.

The six teachers whom the OIL Shikshya Ratna Puraskar-2016 was conferred were:

- 1. Mr. Swapan Bezbarua, Alengmara Sonari Gaon MV School, Alengmara, Jorhat
- 2. Mr. Mukul Borkotoky, Duwara Pather Prathamik Vidyalaya, Dibrugarh
- 3. Ms Juri Saikia, Amguri Hindi LP School, Amguri, Sivsagar
- 4. Mr. Bharat Rajkhowa, Kadam High School, Kadam, Boginadi, Lakhimpur
- 5. Ms Meenakshi Goswami, CNS Higher Secondary School, Pithakhowa, Sonitpur
- 6. Dr. Manjit Gogoi, Jhanji Hemnath Sharma College, Sivasagar

Shri Utpal Bora, CMD, OIL congratulated the six recipients of the OIL Shikshya Ratna Puraskar and extolled their commendable contribution towards imparting quality education to the children. While stating about the objective behind the award, Shri Bora talked about how the award will inspire and motivate teaching fraternity.

Dr. Indra Kumar Bhattacharya in his speech acknowledged the exemplary contribution of teachers in nation building. While congratulating the recipients of the award, he also talked about their responsibility they have to uphold and set an example among the teaching fraternity.

Shri S Mahapatra, Director (E&D) and Shri P K Sharma, Director (Operations) congratulated the awardees and reiterated about the CSR initiatives of OIL in various sectors that promises to continue the development work for people residing in its operational areas. Shri J K Borgohain, RCE, OIL in his speech cited the role of teachers in nation building, their passion to nurture knowledge and to generate the spirit of inquisitiveness among the students



Sri Utpal Bora, Chairman and Managing Director, OIL with senior officials of Oil India Limited alongwith the proud recipients of OIL Shikshya Ratna Puruskar-2016

It may be noted that the names of the recipients of OIL Shikshya Ratna Puraskar 2016 were announced through press advertisement on Teachers' Day, 5<sup>th</sup> September, 2016. Earlier the teachers had submitted their self-nomination for the award against a press advertisement released by OIL. IL&FS Education was entrusted with the task of scrutinizing the entries and conducting the selection process through an independent Jury comprising of distinguished members from education fraternity and representatives from Dibrugarh and Guwahati Universities.

The award ceremony was followed by a Teachers' Workshop conducted by resource persons of IL&FS Education. Around 300 teachers from OIL's operational areas participated in the workshop.